Notícies de la Xarxa
Exhibition Masters of Art Nouveau at the Museum of Applied Arts of Budapest in Budapest – from 24 May to 31 August 2014
The exhibition of the Art Nouveau collection of the Museum of Applied Arts, which met with success in the Musei Capitolini in Rome this spring, is on display in Budapest from 24 May, 2013.
The main emphasis of the programme 2013 of the Museum of Applied Arts is to display this internationally significant Art Nouveau collection both to the national and international public. Part of the Hungarian-Italian Cultural Year 2013 this spring the Museum of Applied Arts organised a large-scale exhibition displaying almost 100 objects in the Musei Capitolini in Rome, which exhibition can now be seen in the Üllői street building.
It represents the technological and artistic innovations of the heyday of Secessionism with outstanding artefacts from the period between the Paris Universal Exposition 1889 and the Turin Universal Exposition of Decorative Art 1911 and shows the influences among the different artistic fields and among the artists from different nationalities.
The glass and ceramic objects –masterworks of Louis Comfort Tiffany, Émile Gallé, the Daum brothers and the Zsolnay factory- which form the main part of the exhibition are enriched by jewels (René Lalique) and tapestries (József Rippl-Rónai, Otto Eckmann).
More information about the exhibition, the Museum and discover the amazing 360 degree virtual tour of the exhibition!
Photo: János Buch, Architectural ceramics for façade decoration, manufactured by the Zsolnay factoryPécs, 1911
Exhibition The Bigot Pavilion – Art Nouveau Architectural Ceramics from Paris at the Museum of Applied Arts in Budapest – from 26 April 2013 to 31 August 2014
In 2013, the Budapest ensemble of Alexandre Bigot’s monumental architectural ceramics can be seen for the first time since the Paris World's Fair of 1900. The ensemble was acquired with government funds by the director Jenő Radisics at the Paris Universal Exposition 1900 and has never been on display so far.
Alexander Bigot’s pavilion constructed of Art Nouveau architectural sample pieces –wall revetments, fireplace frames, columns with plastic decorations, brackets, friezes- was bought entirely by the museum and was transported to Budapest after the exposition. The objects were deposited in the huge basement of the Museum of Applied Arts.
The designers of the architectural ceramics were such outstanding French architects and sculptors of the period like Jules Lavirotte (1864-1924) or Paul Jouve (1878-1973). Similar pieces of architectural ceramics displayed at the exhibition can be found on facades of several Art Nouveau apartment buildings and palaces in Paris even today.
The present exhibition hints at the future of the museum, expressing the desire that many hidden artworks in the collection, such as these, should be displayed – something which will only be possible after the reconstruction of the building designed by Ödön Lechner.
Photo: Musem of Applied Arts, Budapest
Brussels Art nouveau. Around Gabriel Charle's houses (1868-1919) at the Halles Saint-Gery in Brussels – from 1 to 31 August 2014
Brussels is a region full of Historical buildings. In spite of a complexe history, the city has préserved buildings which are real pieces of Art around the year 1900.
The exhibition Around Gabriel Charle's houses (1868-1919) is an invitation to discover the intimacy of significant works of art from the architect and decorator Gabriel Charle in Brussels.
Through a selection of important ornaments, detail foto's and original comments, the tour in the Halles Saint-Géry will make you appreciate a less known tendancy of Art nouveau in Brussels.
Open during August in the Halles Saint-Géry, a guided tour on request can give you more information about the exhibition.
1 Place Saint-Géry, 1000 Bruxelles
Information about guided tour
Tel : 0032 498 70 11 03
E-mail : firstname.lastname@example.org
Photo: Flyer of the exhibition
Summer at the Ecole de Nancy Museum in Nancy – from 2 July to 28 August 2014
Discover the Summer programme of the Ecole de Nancy Museum!
Activities for everyone:
A new Summer cycle: During the time of a work
Come to spend a very special moment during half-an-hour at the Ecole de Nancy Museum and at the Lorrain Museum
Every Wednesday from 5.00 to 5.30 pm
Ecole de Nancy Walks
Pedestrian guided tours “off-site”
On Saturdays at 11 am
Small extra for children! Sweets and Nature
A visit followed by a decoration for small cakes decorations!
Thursday 24 July, from 2.30 to 4.30 pm
For 7-11 years old children
Holiday workshop for the youngest: Treasure hunt Intrigues at the Museum, special artists
Choice of one session: Thursday 21 or 28 August, from 2.30 to 4.30 pm
For 7-11 years old children
Programme and sessions
Just like the rest of the year, a guided tour of the Villa Majorelle is organised each Saturday and Sunday at 1.45 and 3.00 pm!
Photo: Corbin Property, Ecole de Nancy Museum, source: www.ecole-de-nancy.com
Summer visits of the Cauchie House – from 3 June to 26 August 2014
The Cauchie House will be open this week-end on 7 and 8 June from 10 am to 1 pm and from 2 to 5.30 pm.
The Summer starts also for the Cauchie House, which open its doors on Tuesday evenings of June, July and August, from 6 pm to 9 pm. Another way to discover the House at evenings and during Summer.
Photo: Logo of the Cauchie House
The Ecole de Nancy represented in the exhibition Paris 1900. The city of entertainment at the Petit Palais in Paris – from 2 April to 17 August 2014
The Musée de l’Ecole de Nancy is proud to present several works of its collections on the occasion of the exhibition Paris 1900. The city of entertainment which takes place from 2 April to 17 August 2014. The visitors will be then able to rediscover Victor Prouvé’s The Night or book covers of Camille Martin...
The exhibition Paris 1900. The City of Entertainment is an invitation to the public to relive the splendour of the French capital at the time when the Paris Exposition Universelle was heralding the arrival of the 20th century.
Discover OFF, the Musée de l’Ecole de Nancy’s blog
More information about the exhibition
Photo: Victor Prouvé, bowl La Nuit. Nancy, MEN.Picture C. Philippot
Release of the 10th issue of the Bruxelles Patrimoines Magazine
The Monuments & Sites Department of the Brussels Regional Public Service has just published the 10th issue of the Bruxelles Patrimoines Magazine which focuses on the Art Nouveau and Art déco architect Jean-Baptiste Dewin.
Photo: Cover of the 10th issue of the Bruxelles Patrimoines Magazine
Travelling exhibition The Nature of Art Nouveau 2 at the Sala Muncunill in Terrassa – from 9 May to 13 July 2014
Organised by the Réseau Art Nouveau Network in the framework of the European project "Art Nouveau & Ecology" (2010-2015) supported by the Culture 2007-2013 programme of the European Commission, the exhibition comprises two identical concurrent exhibitions and has begun its journey to all partner cities in October 2013.
After Nancy, the exhibition The Nature of Art Nouveau 2 is presented in Terrassa at the Sala Muncunill, third step of its European journey, from 9 May until 13 July 2014.
This exhibition is free and bilingual Catalan-English.
Press release in English and French
Poster of the event
Do not miss the guided tours organised on 10 and 11 May 2014!
The double of the exhibition The Nature of Art Nouveau 1 is still presented in Riga at St Peter's Church until 7 September 2014!
Photo: Poster of the exhibition Naturaleses de l'Art Nouveau
Guided tours and workshops for families Daddy, Mummy, Horta and me ! at the Horta Museum in Brussels – from 7 July to 8 August 2014
During the Summer, the Horta Museum will open its doors on Mornings to the children and parents for an adapted visit to each age.
The space of the servants of the house will be exceptionally open for the occasion. The visit will take the shape of a role-play for the oldest and a treasure hunt for the youngest and enables to discover an a pro-active way the extraordinary house and Victor Horta’s wonderful universe. After the visit, a creative workshop will be offered, so that everyone can create a work inspired from Nature, in relation with Art Nouveau – different workshop each week (stained-glass, mosaic, mural painting, Art Nouveau house in paper, animals in paper).
Visit our Website
From 7 July to 8 August
From Monday to Friday from 9.30 am to 12.30 pm
Closed on 21 July
Price per mornings: 8,00 € / adult and 5,00€ / child
Registration by phone : 0032 (0)2 543 04 90
or by e-mail : email@example.com
Be careful: groups are limited to 10 persons maximum per morning and only available for adults accompanied by children from 6 to 12 years-old.
Flyer of the event
Photo: Horta Museum, detail of the flyer of event.
2000 archives of Victor Horta found by the Archives of modern Architecture in Brussels – on 2 July 2014
Some archives of Victor Horta, of which the complete ones of the Palais des beaux-Arts, were found among other documents by the Archives of modern Architecture. As the Belgian Newspaper Le Soir reveals it, two thousand plans and sketches of the Belgian master found themselves among numerous other archives, which were stored in a building in Schaerbeek released by the entrepreneur Blaton.
The Archives of modern architecture received all these documents as a donation and plan to organise an exhibition next year.
Discover a report of the Belgian channel Télé Bruxelles
Photo: Plans of the Palais des beaux-Arts, Brussels. Source: www.telebruxelles.net
Call for applications 2014 Heritage Prize in Schaerbeek, Brussels – 8 August 2014
Heritage in the public's eye
Launched in 2010 at the instigation of the deputy burgomaster for heritage Cécile Jodogne, the heritage biennial prize is in its third edition. The aim? Reward and promote private initiatives and associations in favor of the built heritage of our beautiful town.
With an amount of 3,600 euros to be divided among the winners, two types of achievements are aimed at this award:
On the one hand, the restoration of buildings initiated by individuals in accordance with the original architectural features;
On the other hand, the work done by organizations to raise awareness of heritage or its enhancing through various means (publication, exhibition, workshops ...) in connection with the Municipality of Schaerbeek.
The heritage in Schaerbeek is exceptional; actions to preserve it should be encouraged!
The application form as well as the regulation rules of the contest are available at the Urban planning Department : office-bureau 2.07, town hall - Hôtel communal, Place Colignon – 0032 (0)2/244.72.04 firstname.lastname@example.org)
Deadline to submit the applications: Friday 8 August 2014 at 1 pm
Photo: Schaerbeek, Brussels
The Leopold Museum’s Klimt original shown at the Klimt Center in Attersee - from 12 to 24 July 2014
For the third year running, the Gustav Klimt Center on the Attersee will be presenting an eminent original painting by Gustav Klimt (1862–1918). In its opening year in 2012, the center featured Klimt’s work On Lake Attersee (1900), dubbed a "frame full of lake water" by the art critic Ludwig Hevesi.
While Klimt’s 1899 painting A Morning by the Pond (Still Pond), chosen for the center’s 2013 presentation, shows a depiction of the Egelsee in Golling, this year’s exhibition once again focuses on an Attersee landscape, the 1902/03 masterpiece The Large Poplar II (Gathering Storm).
Like the previous two paintings, the rendering is another exclusive loan from the Leopold Museum in Vienna.
Photo: Die große Pappel II (c) Leopold Museum, Vienna
Exhibition At the Origins of a Myth: Klimt at the Palazzo Reale in Milan – until 13 July 2014
The exhibition, organized by the Municipality of Milan, Palazzo Reale, 24 ORE Cultura and Arthemisia Group, in collaboration with the Belvedere Museum in Vienna and curated by Alfred Weidinger, said Klimt scholar and deputy director of the Belvedere, presents for the first time in Milan some of the most famous masterpieces from the most important museums.
The exhibition aims to investigate family relationships and emotional Klimt, exploring the beginnings of his career at the School of Applied Arts in Vienna and his great passion for theatre and music through the exhibition of works coming from other important museums, including several masterpieces such as Adam and Eve, Judith II , Sonnenblume and Bewegtes Wasser.
Photo: Fuochi fatui, Gustav Klimt, 1903, Private collection. Source: www.klimtmilano.it
50 years of the Ecole de Nancy Museum in Nancy – 26 June 2014
THE ECOLE DE NANCY MUSEUM CELEBRATES ITS 50 YEARS!
In June 1964, the Ecole de Nancy Museum was opened in Eugène Corbin’s house, patron and collector of the Ecole de Nancy who gave a large part of his works to the City of Nancy in 1935. This donation is at the root of this unique museum in France, totally devoted to an artistic movement, the Art Nouveau of Nancy.
The museum will celebrate, on 26 June 2014, the fiftieth anniversary of its opening and invite you on this occasion, to come to discover or rediscover its collections.
Free entrance from 10 am to 8 pm.
A gift will officially be given to a person born on 26 June 1964, in the framework of the operation Born on 26 June at 10 am
Official memorial ceremony at 11 am
Dedication session of books published by the Association of the Ecole de Nancy Museum Friends from 2 pm
Free tour at 3 pm and 6 pm “From the Corbin Museum to the Ecole de Nancy Museum” (without registration, subject to availability)
Musical activities from 4 pm to 8 pm in the garden, around the 60’s, by “OnVousPasseraDesDisques”
27, 28 and 29 June
Free tour at 3 pm, “From the Corbin Museum to the Ecole de Nancy Museum” (without registration, subject to availability) Entrance fee to the museum: 6€
During all June 2014 : operation Born on 26 June !
If you are born on 26 June (and whatever the year), the museum invites you to come to collect a gift during all June! The offer is limited to the 50 first persons who will appear to the checkout with their ID card, at opening days and hours of the museum.
More information about the anniversary
Press release of the event and press pack of the event
Photo: Poster of the event
Open house at the Otto Wagner Hofpavillon Hietzing in Vienna– on 21 to 22 June 2014
At the Hietzing subway station stands “Pavillon des k.u.k. Allerhöchsten Hofes” (“Pavillon of the k.u.k. of the highest Court”) designed by Otto Wagner and opened in 1899. He served to the emperor and his guests and members of the court as entry and exit point when they travelled once with the Wiener Stadtbahn.
The central space of the Hofpavillon, the waiting room of the Emperor, contained a table and chairs in front of a view of Vienna by Carl Moll. Here was also a desk so that the Emperor was able to work during the waiting period. And it was possible to send telegrams from the loggia.
Due to disrepair, the site of the Vienna Museum had to be closed for a few years. Thanks to an extensive renovation by the construction and building management of the City of Vienna (MA 34) the architectural jewel is once again open to the public.
Saturday, June 21, and Sunday, June 22 from 10 am to 18 pm
Free admission on both days!
Thereafter, the Pavilion will be open every Saturday and Sunday 10-18 clock.
Photo: Wolfgang Thaler, © Wien Museum